Izabela Tyszka

Grayslake, IL | Human & Organizational Development | 2017

Izabela will be serving at Missionvale, a holistic care center that sustains a whole community facing systemic barriers by providing everything from food and medical services to education. She will not only have the opportunity to work alongside community partners, but also to support to her peers experience intentional engagement and reflection as a student leader with the OACS Global Service South Africa cohort.

To read more about Izabela’s experiences in South Africa, please visit her page on the South Africa 2017 Cohort blog.

Blog Post Two:

Much of our service was helping other individuals serve their respective communities. Much of my service was supporting the cohort in their development as they partnered in service with those individuals. Results were not easily quantifiable, if even identifiable, creating the aftertaste of inadequacy. The cohort worked through changes in scheduling that affected expected outcomes, as well as reflected on the possibility that our service could not change structures that keep whole communities living in undignified conditions and without opportunity.

From the beginning, I knew that four weeks of service as not-yet qualified educators, healers, and professionals would not liberate individuals from oppressive poverty and systematic injustice. We were, however, able to direct our efforts and energy into not only meeting needs, but also to listening to, showing appreciation for, and encouraging the servant-leaders we were working with.

With a week left of service, I cried for the first time anticipating leaving Port Elizabeth. Port Elizabeth drew me back to South Africa last year, and this year it tied me down to a community. I am in awe of what others have done for me throughout the past six weeks and do not know how to fully express my gratitude. Andrew and Junayne embraced us fully, demonstrating a commitment to humbly serving and lifting others. I was challenged and made vulnerable, but I was able to remain steadfast because of their full confidence in our work. I made meaningful relationships with the cohort, learning from each individual member. I was reminded of the hope in justice from individuals working towards it ceaselessly. I am taking away more than I have left. I have grown. I hope to return.

Leave a comment